Day #063

The hazy spring sunshine was beautiful motivation

“The will to win, the desire to succeed, the urge to reach your full potential… these are the keys that will unlock the door to personal excellence.” – Confucius

I’ve done it! I’ve just booked my motivation. I am now entered into the She Runs Windsor 10k on bank holiday Monday, 6th May 2013. I am so excited!

I must admit, I was a little intimidated by the 10K in under 2 hours part – mostly because I don’t use Kilometres, and didn’t know how many miles that was!

The trees may still be bare, but that didn’t stop the excited birds hunting out new homes for spring!

I may not be a runner, or a jogger, but I am an avid walker, and so on Sunday I decided to test out the route to see exactly what it entailed. Yesterday marked only 1 week since I returned from my stay with Chris, and I figured a nice long walk to mark the beginning of spring would be the perfect antidote to the sadness I was feeling. Oh boy, I was right!

Yes, it was still a little cold, but when that wind stopped every now and then, you could feel the warmth of the strengthening sun, and it was a beautiful sensation. It was even more motivation, knowing that I would be outside a whole lot more now, and could appreciate the beauty of spring in every stage. (Unfortunately, I cannot take my Nikon with me as it’s not very convenient to run with! So, I brought along my mum’s little camera, which still allows me to capture what I’m witnessing, if a little more grainy.)

The RouteThe run has an amazing route, and couldn’t be more perfect for someone who loves Windsor Great Park. And as you all know by now, I absolutely love this place!

And so, on Sunday, I began at The York Club (between the 6 and 7), and went clockwise around the “circle” back to The York Club, then continued on again and back to George III Statue, and then down the long walk – the start of the race is actually near the top of the long walk, which is 2.3 miles (3.7km) in total.

So, In 1 hour 57 minutes and 58 seconds, I completed a total of 8.4 miles (13.5km) – 5.7 walking and 2.7 jogging. I hope I don’t sound too big headed when I say I was proud of myself. I couldn’t quite believe that I am already well within the time limit, and I’m not even completely running it yet – I still have 9 weeks to train!!

A busy and misty long walk marks the last stretch home

Well, as I bet some of you are thinking, I woke up this morning and felt like I had been beaten up! But, do you know what? I still have tonnes of enthusiasm, and probably even more now I know that this is a real possibility for me to do well.

I will be sure to post updates as I go, and take lots of pictures as spring takes a hold of the Queen’s back garden.

And for those of you feeling particularly charitable, I would be ever so grateful of a donation to my fundraising page – I am raising money for the wonderful Cancer Research UK charity 🙂

Until next time …

Leave a Reply

