Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign

The Weekly Photo Challenge for this week is foreign.

The photo challenge for this week immediately threw me back to August 2010 – my first visit to the USA. I had only been out of England twice before – a school trip to Berlin, passing through France, Belgium and eventually Germany. But, I was 13, it was my first time out of the country and away from my family, and homesickness meant I absolutely could not enjoy this amazing opportunity. My second time out of the country was also my first time on an aeroplane – a family holiday to Ibiza. I was 17 – yes, 17 and only just on a plane! But, let’s face it, who counts sun-chasing as a proper holiday??

So, shortly after my 18th birthday, I made the decision to take the huge step and visit Chris for the first time, and indeed, fly 3,000 miles by myself on what would only be my second time on an aeroplane. You can imagine how I was feeling! I was excited to visit this amazing country that everyone knows through the endless stream of films and TV shows. I felt like I knew America already, and I was certain I knew how I would react when I immersed myself into all this country had to offer.
Well, as you can imagine now – I was wrong. I was not ready for America (it is here that I would like to add that “America was not ready for me”, but alas …) – I could not believe how strange this country felt to me, and just how vastly different it was from my own little country across the Atlantic. There was me thinking “same language, same brands on sale, it’s all going to be England with better weather!” Hah! Not likely 😀

In the three times I have visited America – first in 2010 for 3 weeks, second in 2011 for 4 weeks, and third in 2011/2012 for 3 months – I still find things that amaze me, that astound me, that make me think “now I would not see that back home!” And it is this, I think, which is what captivates me the most, and what is pulling me to leave my home country, something I have grown to know so well in the 20 years I have been here, to discover this curiously foreign country that is the United States of America.

And so I will share just 12 photos (haha, just 12?!) that always make me chuckle and think just how foreign I am!

Until next time …

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign | Far Away

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign « patriciaddrury

  3. Pingback: Best Wednesday night ever: Pitbull Concert in La Paz! « 3rdculturechildren

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign « The Incredible Lightness of Seeing

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign… | Mirth and Motivation

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Back that Foreign Truck Up in Here | Humbled Pie

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign « What's (in) the picture?

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Embracing the World – Foreign (2) « What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign | Far Away

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign… | The Blog Farm

Leave a Reply

