Is this finally the journey … ?

So, I know I have already posted today, but I’m sure you won’t mind if I break that unwritten rule just this once! I wish to explain my 2 month absence, as well as lay out what I’ve decided to do about the future. So, here goes …

For those who were followers, or just popped by my blog every now and then, before I stopped blogging back at the beginning of July, you would be thinking that at this moment I would be typing this entry from a small café table overlooking the Eiffel Tower. I’m afraid to say, I’m not. I’m still sat here at my desk, the only view being that of my back garden and my neighbours houses! I did not go to Paris after all. And though I won’t post the reason, let’s suffice it to say that I’ve made the better decision by not going.

July was a busy month to say the least – Chris went back to the US after 5 months here in the UK with me, and just before he left, we took a 5 day trip to Germany to visit his relatives there. It was a very last minute visit, as we had tried twice already to buy the flights from Ryanair, and both times they messed up! But, third time lucky, we managed to get the flights booked, and we arrived in Leipzig on 12th July at 9:30pm!

Now, I’ll admit, I went to Germany with a very cautious view of whether or not I would enjoy it. I had been on a school trip to Berlin in 2006, and I thought Berlin was about the extent of what Germany had to offer. Ohhhh boy, was I wrong! Let me say this now – Leipzig is an absolutely amazing city! But, I’ll post about that visit at a later date 🙂

Anyway, so, we got back from Germany, and 2 days after that, it was my 20th birthday! I still can’t quite believe that I am 20 – I am in limbo, no longer a teenager (19), but not quite an adult either (21)!

And yet, we are out of August and into September already. We are in autumn! Though, for anyone who lives in the UK, I’m sure you will agree with me that we have been in autumn for quite some time haha – as this picture will show. I couldn’t help but quickly print screen it while I was watching BBC News on my laptop – I just think it’s absolutely hilarious!

And so, with the dream of Paris firmly behind me, the new big adventure for me is to begin planning what will be one of the biggest and most memorable days of my life; my wedding day. Again, for those of you who have only just come across my blog, I should explain! I am engaged to an American – well, Puerto Rican, haha – Chris, and he lives in Pennsylvania. We are facing the big challenge of wedding plans amidst making the equally gigantic decision of deciding who should move where – should I leave the UK and join him in the US? Or should he come here instead?

The next 2 years are going to be a very long journey for us both, but I intend to share every decision and moment of questioning with you all, in a hope that my journey will inspire others to search for that one person who completes them, whether they are next door, or on the other side of the world!

Until next time …

One thought on “Is this finally the journey … ?

Leave a Reply

