In my garden today …

I have never been a “bird person”. I was always more interested in the rest of nature – trees, flowers, and wild animals. But never birds. My mum has always been a bird person. Always. She could sit outside for hours naming every one that came along and sat on one of the many bird feeders in our garden. And she quite often does.

But, until now, I never understood how she could do it. It takes a certain kind of patience to watch and identify birds. And yet recently, I have been finding myself sat at the window, camera in hand, snapping away at all the different birds I could see. This is followed by regular intervals of showing the pictures to mum, and asking her to identify them for me.

After a couple of months of bugging her with my questions, I have vastly improved in my bird knowledge, and can identify several of the most common residents and visitors to our garden! But I know I still have quite a lot to learn – but I’m ready for it! Anyway, here are some of the pictures I have taken πŸ™‚

Collared Doves

Blue Tit

Great Tit

Robin

Greenfinch

Until next time …

3 thoughts on “In my garden today …

  1. Your robin reminds me of a post I recently did with blue birds under the title of together (1..2 ?). I had several entries under that topic. The jest here, is that I love the bird setting high in the tree top against a clear blue sky. All of your photos are lovely though. That one just really caught my eye. πŸ™‚ Nice post.

  2. I am so glad you paid a visit to my blog and sent a LIKE my way so that I could find you here. I love your blog and I look forward to following your posts. I am definitely a bird lover. These photos are great. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

