A day out at work …

So, today is May Day bank holiday and, for the first time in my working life, I have actually been given a bank holiday off! And what do you think I did with this wonderful first? Well of course, I spent the day at work! šŸ™‚

You see, I work in Legoland Windsor!

And so, seeing as schools were out, I decided to take my younger brother and sister to Legoland for the day, which gave me a chance to show Chris everything I am always telling him about, too.

The weather forecast last night had said it would be cloudy in the morning with a chance of afternoon showers. Well, as you may well know, that was completely wrong! When we arrived, the clouds were only just starting to leak spots of rain, and we hoped it would hold off at least for a few hours. But alas, as weather tends to be, it didn’t do what we wanted!

As you can see in these photos, shortly after we arrived at 10am, we could hardly even see Windsor Castle, which is only 2.5 miles away! But by the time we left at around 6pm, the view of Windsor Castle, and further out to London, was perfectly clear. We could even make out that the Royal Standard was flying from the castle, meaning the royal family was “at home” today šŸ™‚

Although a trip to Legoland is a multi-annual event for my family, there is never a moment of lesser excitement than the first time we ever visited. And even to this day, there are things that I am still noticing, that I haven’t seen before!

Take, for example, Miniland. Miniland is one of several themed areas of the park, and it comprises of various Lego model towns and cities from around the world. Between 35 and 40 million Lego bricks are used in the models at Miniland! I have wondered through London and Paris, Scotland, Sweden, Denmark and Holland (among others!) on many many occasions, but today is the first time I have noticed several things …

First – A quaint and unassuming “Highland Malt” distillery – but, what is that jumble of colours on the crate by the stairs … ?

It’s a little Lego man in a kilt! And apparently, he’s had a little too much of the free tasters …

And another detail I have never picked up on – though this time it’s definitely more noticeable – lies over at the John F. Kennedy Space Center …The Lego model looms large over the surrounding area, in a similar way to its full-size equivalent. But, just below the main model, and in between two Lego rockets, is none other than a group of …

Imperial Stormtroopers!!

So that was fun, noticing those for the first time! But that, for me, is the reason Legoland will never get old, and why I will always want to go back there. I will miss this place when I leave for Paris in August … But anyway, I shall leave you with a few more pictures from Miniland. I didn’t take too many, for fear of ruining my camera in the rain – but there’s enough to make a decent post, at least šŸ™‚

Edinburgh Castle

The Gherkin

Parliament and Big Ben

The Lone Piper

Holland’s Windmills

Until next time …

6 thoughts on “A day out at work …

  1. thanks for posting these legoland pictures. my grandboys and i would enjoy so much to visit such a place. pretty cool. also thanks for the follow.. : )

Leave a Reply

